Resources / Study / Innovation for Court ADR

Just Court ADR

The blog of Resolution Systems Institute

RSI Celebrates Professor Katheryn Dutenhaver at Conflict Resolution Day

Just Court ADR, October 21st, 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Resolution Systems Institute presented our Harris H. Agnew Service to Community Award to Professor Katheryn Dutenhaver at ACR Chicago’s Conflict Resolution Day.

The award is presented to individuals whose cumulative activities have substantially and meaningfully furthered and enhanced court ADR systems in Illinois. For 2013, we honored Professor Dutenhaver with a plaque that reads as follows:

“Professor Dutenhaver is a pioneer in the ADR field. She began teaching mediation to law students in 1986 and by the next year, her students were mediating small claims cases – some of the first students in the nation to do so. The success of this program led Professor Dutenhaver to co-found the Center for Dispute Resolution at DePaul University. Other Chicago law schools have followed in her footsteps by offering such opportunities to students.

Later, in response to the Circuit Court of Cook County’s need for mediation of large civil litigation involving self-represented litigants, Professor Dutenhaver worked with the Illinois Chapter of the Association of Attorney-Mediators to develop a program where law students represent litigants and AAM Illinois neutrals mediate.

Not only a lawyer, educator and mediator, but also a woman of faith, Professor Dutenhaver also co-founded the Interfaith Family Mediation Project. This program aims to help divorcing parents in Cook County come to an agreement on the religious upbringing of their children.

Through effective collaboration, Professor Dutenhaver promotes the use of mediation, helps meet unmet legal needs, serves the court system, and educates law students and young lawyers. RSI is honored to present this award to such an influential individual.”

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “RSI Celebrates Professor Katheryn Dutenhaver at Conflict Resolution Day”

  1. Kent Lawrence says:

    It should be noted that this award has been bestowed only nine times in the sixteen years since it was established. Recipients, and the inscriptions on the individual awards given, may be found at

  2. Kent Lawrence says:

    Correction, 10 times in 17 years…. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

Verified by ExactMetrics